Why I haven’t opened my copy of J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy

I’m impatiently waiting at my front door, I’ve just seen the postman through my living room window and he’s coming towards my house next. And YES!! He’s holding an Amazon package. I wait till he leaves my front door as he always leaves my packages outside. I finally have my hands on it, I rip open the cardboard and there it is… The book I’ve been waiting for, J.K. Rowling’s new book The Casual Vacancy…

Okay that’s not what exactly happened; this is what usually happens when I order books. But for some reason not this time round. I received my copy a few days after it was released. My first thought was what an amazing cover, it’s very simple but the colours are bright and it really stands out on my book shelf. Yet I still didn’t open it, at the time I was re reading A Clash of Kings from A Song of Ice and Fire series (ASOIAF), and I told myself I would read it after. But that never happened.

IMG_1333

I think the reason why I haven’t read the book is because I’m not sure I want to read J.K’s words which have nothing to do with Harry Potter. I’ve grown up with Harry, Hermione and Ron… and I don’t think I’ve ever let go of them. I think it will feel weird hearing her words about a totally new set of characters that I have to get to know. And coming from the asoiaf series where I had to get to know thousands of characters it can really be a chore. A thing that I have realised whilst I was contemplating reading this book is what if it isn’t any good? I read reviews that haven’t been very complementary about the book, that it doesn’t get really good until near the end. Will my opinions change of J.K. Rowling? I really hope not…

This book is only one book, from beginning middle and the end; I’ll know what’s going to happen. There’s no sequel no trilogy, I love series of books. The more books the better I say. I love cliff hangers, which makes you wanting more and the feeling of what’s going to happen next. And thinking of far-fetched crazy theories on what you think will happen in the next book. Obviously the time between books is just excruciatingly bad… but that only means RE-READING!!! Is this book re readable??  Hmmmmm…?

Only time will tell, I will eventually read it. I hope… But I’ll make sure I’ll come back here to tell you all about it!

Right now I’m anxiously waiting for my copy of twilight. I’ve ordered it why are you not here yet!?!!! I bet I’m writing this now and the postman has left it outside my door. *runs downstairs* It’s not there 😦

Just to let you know my background of twilight. I’ve watched all the films, honestly not what I intended, but my friend dragged me as she loves the books and films. I saw the final film which weren’t bad at all, but she told me read the books because there even better. I’ve read a sample of the first chapter and I can’t believe how similar it is to the fifty shades of grey books (yes unfortunately for me I have read those books *vomits*). How EL James has not been sued I do not know or made millions from a book that for me was absolutely rubbish (hmmm… maybe I’ll say this about twilight).

When I eventually get my hands on the book I’m hoping to do some chapter reviews and some first impression of my first read of twilight! See you soon!! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Why I haven’t opened my copy of J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy

  1. b.h.quinn says:

    I have the same hesitation as you, which is probably why I don’t even own the book. I’m sure I’ll read it eventually, but it’s not the sort of book I normally enjoy and I have a list of books I need to finish first.

  2. RiverSeth says:

    I am glad im not the only one. I have been stuck on page 12 since i got it…3 days after it was released. I cant bring myself to read it. JK was my fav childhood author, the Potters my fav books…I just dont want to ruin that!

  3. Wow I’m not the only one then! I actually recently opened the book since I posted this. And I only managed to go up to page 36. It didn’t entice me as much as The Boy Who Lived… and the tabby cat on the corner of Privet Drive!

  4. I agree also, I have not even ordered or attempted to get a copy of the casual vacancy. Friends that know of my love for Harry Potter just don’t understand it..and neither do I really…keep us posted on how it is!

Leave a Reply

